Do math problems count as writing?

Today I worked on math problems for five hours.  I’m brushing up on my skills before I take a math placement test.  To register for any math class for college credit, I must take the placement test.  You may be wondering why I can’t use my SAT scores.  It has been ten years since I took them.  Last I checked, which was when I first registered for classes two years ago, I would have to go through a lot of hoops to access my scores because the records get shelved after six years or so.  In any case, since I haven’t taken a math class for over ten years, I’m better off having my math teacher husband tutor me.  So far, we’ve moved through Algebra I, Algebra II, and some Pre-Calculus in two days.  To be fair, I did complete Algebra I and II in middle and high school with A’s, or high B’s at the very least.  However, I was never taught Trigonometry so when I got to Pre-Calc and our first day was spent covering the unit circle, I knew I was screwed.  Since I already had a part-time job to help support my family (a story for another day), I wasn’t always available for extra tutoring after school.  Suffice to say, I was not going to pass with a high grade and since I didn’t need the math credit, I withdrew and transferred to a creative writing class.  Trust me, I was much more productive and successful.

 

The good news for me is that I’ve written for almost thirty minutes by simply relaying this information.  I know it doesn’t seem like much, but it’s a small victory.  Eventually the action of writing each day will become a habit.  As it becomes a habit, the content will get better.  The more I flex my mental muscle, the stronger it will become.  Sometime soon, I will work up to a poem or a short story.  For now, the only short stories I have are anecdotes from my day.  Again, bear with me as I mold my behavior.

Leave a Reply

