Gaming and my Lit class

I am taking a required literature class, specifically African-American Literature.  We recently read the Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave, among others.  They’re depressing, obviously, but they really make you think and evaluate our culture and country today.  To be honest, I don’t really want to get into it.  This information is more for context.

I’ve been playing a lot of Destiny and a little of Diablo 3 on PS4.  For some reason, I got a craving to play Assassin’s Creed IV, which I have on PS3.  I put the disc in and start-up the game.  I have 97% completed; that includes side quests, additional requirements, treasures, etc. so I decided try the expansion pack I received with my season pass that I had bought when I purchased the game.  The expansion is called “Freedom Cry” and features your first mate, Adéwal

In “Freedom Cry”, you, as Adéwalare a trained Assassin fighting against the Templars.  You start the game on a ship (pretty sure it’s the Jackdaw, from the main game) in the process of attacking a Templar fleet.  After boarding one of the ships and obtaining a package, you attempt to escape by sailing into a storm.  Naturally, you get ship-wrecked.  It turns out that you are in Saint-Dominique, a French colony that is heavily involved in the slave trade.  Long story short, you free as many slaves as possible while pursuing the Templars.

What are the chances that I get the urge to play that game while I’m in this class?  I haven’t touched that game in months and I think my PS3 was becoming melancholy.  I didn’t even know what “Freedom Cry” entailed.  I knew that Adéwal

Leave a Reply

